Hello,

I am very new to Visual Basic and try to teach myself again after years and years of not using it. Learned very basic codes back in school but that was too long ago.

So far I have wrote only ONE application. Basic input, calculate and output. Came out almost bug free and I was very excited. But was very simple

I am trying to write an application that uses SQL local database. Why it needs to connect is still beyond me, but anyhow.. here is my problem.

I have read many locations that when I created a database I should then use a Database Form Wizard. Well hold and behold VS 2008 doesn't have that feature anymore since the application/form was retired. Great, I have read some more sites but just can't find the help. I figured by having using the Wizard I can better understand the interaction between the form and database by looking at the code.

So... reading the VB6 book and several tutorial sites, I still can't figure out what code I need to a) add data, b) edit data, C) delete data. Specifically how to interact Click with database.

So far I have the form, I have database table, have established connection. Just missing the code for click.

No, this is not a homework assignment which I have read through several posts here. This is for personal purpose, personal fun, personal time. If the application becomes successful, I may write more complex application than this one with bigger database and provide it to the gaming community.

I appreciate you help in advance. I am not expecting for someone to give me the code right off the back. If you do great, if not then please point me to right direction or give me a hint ;)

Xad

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Forgot to mention.

I do not have the code to show since I don't know where to begin. As far as coding goes. The only thing i have now is...

Public Class Form2

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnAdd.Click

End Sub
End Class