Ok i have a few questions. I'm fairly new to programming.

Im starting to get a little functional with java, i can handle GUI's, threads, exceptions, 2d graphics, JDBC etc. I took a class in C++ only to find that I am not even close to producing graphics or GUI's yet.

In C++ I have made it as far as pointers, references, inheritance, polymorphism, streams.

I want to at least dabble in graphics and GUI's with c++.

I ordered the OpenGL super bible, mainly to flip through the pages, but would like to write some Graphics code before too long.

Are OpenGL and the windows API something that i could realistically expect to learn from reading a book, or is that something i will need to learn in a classroom?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

u don't need them classrooms to learn anything, tis bullshit

"The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.”
-=Al Einstein=-

I think that when being class taught you are worse off. You tend to take the information you are fed and that is enough for you, you think it is correct. However when you teach yourself from books and the internet you wonder wether the resources information is actually 100% correct. So this means you then take the time to contnue to look around the internet for other sources and seeks help from other people about each indervidual topic.

This means that you gain a much better undertsnading of how things work and more likely a much better approach to doing things. Also you will learn valuable skills of being able to work out things more on your own rather than copying from class taught material!

The Win32 API is quite nice to work with and is VERY well documented on MSDN making it reasonable easy to learn, as long as you do not let it overwhelm you to start with.