Hello everyone.
I want to know how to get my internet IP without going to a "www.ip-address.com" or somthing to get it. I thought about using winsock, but i am still a winsock beginner. I want to connect to 127.0.0.1 (loopback ip) and do a GetHostInfo() command of some kind to get the ip. The ip i want is not the same ip you can get on CMD. I want the "internet IP", the one that you would use for another client to connect to.
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

To my knowledge this isn't plausible. This is why: you have an internal IP address, on your computer, probably something like 192.168.1.101. Loopback (127.0.0.1) is an entirely different interface... so, let's just say that your connection to the internet is through Ethernet 0 (eth0). eth0, basically asks the router for an IP address, which gets assigned to it (192.168.1.101). Your router, when it gets turned on and the internet plugged into it, asks your ISP for an IP address. So, router asks ISP for address (the address YOU want), which gets assigned. Then your computer (presumably the one that would run your code) asks the router for an IP. Those IP's are very different networks. So, I guess it looks something like:

_____________                            192.168.1.1  _______     98.65.128.12               ____ 
| yourcomputer   |---------------------------------- | router  |----------------------------|  ISP  |
| and your code  |  192.168.1.101                   ------------                            --------
--------------------

so tell me..... how does "your code" all the way on the left, on a completely different network, on the "other side" of the router, get the address of the router on the inaccessible (right side) of the router WITHOUT going to something like www.ip-address.com" ?

Edit: sorry, just realize the drawing gets messed up on different resolutions

Well thanks man, i guess it cant be done. But thanks anyway.