Hi,
This is my first time on daniweb, so if I've posted in the wrong section or there's already a similarly-themed thread or I've done something wrong I apologise. Anyway, I'm hoping someone can prod me in the right direction with a problem I'm having right now.
I'm currently working on a project which aims to form a sort of public desktop network (i.e. the screens of connected computers can be viewed remotely - think Remote Assistance but more public and less confined to LANs or small-medium businesses). Nothing too flash or high-quality - just for my own interest at this stage.
I'm writing the application in Python 2.6.1, and am implementing it using the standard Tkinter module interface. For image handling I am also using the Python Imaging Library (PIL).
Anyway, I'm not quite sure how to approach a problem I've already encountered. I want to regularly capture the contents of the screen, which in itself is thankfully made incredibly trivial by PIL (doing the same in C++ in the past was a pain).
However, the program will be displaying the contents of other screens and of its own screen, and therefore if it includes itself in the screenshot then when the screens are viewed within the program a sort of recursive image situation emerges (if that makes sense) - I hope you can picture that.
So, ideally, I need a way for the screen capture to somehow ignore the window of my application (I've said active window in the thread title to save space but obviously it may or may not be the active window) and store the remainder of the screen (including what is hidden behind my window).