I have an assignment in which I have to read in a series of words using the nextLine method from the Scanner class and then count the number of words using the StringTokenizer class. I know you all like for people to show some initiative by starting the program but I am not sure what needs to be done. I have no experience whatsoever using the StringTokenizer class so I was hoping someone could explain to me how I could accomplish this task.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Since your assignment specifies it, do you not have any class notes related to StringTokenizer? Seems strange to me that you have an assignment on things that were not covered in class at all.

StringTokenizer is also a legacy class and it's usage in new code is discouraged:

StringTokenizer is a legacy class that is retained for compatibility reasons although its use is discouraged in new code. It is recommended that anyone seeking this functionality use the split method of String or the java.util.regex package instead.

I agree, it is strange. We have a visiting professor from another country and he is, to put it nicely, lacking in teaching ability in American colleges. And although it's use is discouraged he has specified that as the method to accomplish this assignment. The philosophy around here is teach everything the hard, old way and then after that teach the newer, simpler way of doing things.

Hope this will help you get started....

import java.util.Scanner;
import java.util.StringTokenizer;

public class Test 
{
	public static void main(String[] args)
	{
		String input;
		Scanner s = new Scanner(System.in);

int count = 0;

System.out.print("Enter a sentence: ");
		input = s.nextLine();

StringTokenizer t = new StringTokenizer(input);

while(t.hasMoreTokens())
		{
			count++;
			String word = t.nextToken();
			System.out.println("Found the word " + word);
		}

System.out.println("Number of words: " + count);
	}
}