I am fairly new to C# 2005. I am facing a strange problem in my first major project after migrating to C# 2005. I am using the concept of MDI and Child forms. My MDI form has the Menu bar on top as normal standard. My child form does not have any menu bar. But when I am displying the child form within the MDI form, a grey bar is being displayed between the title bar of the MDI form and above the Menu bar of the MDI form. It consists of an icon like picture at the left end and a disabled control box (minimize, restore/maximize and close buttons).

How do I get rid of this grey bar.

I am using the following code in my MDI for to display the child form.

frmChild1 Child1 = new frmChild1();
Child1.MdiParent = this;
Child1.Show();

Thank you.

Lalit Kumar Barik
India

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Thats a standard bar at the top of any form. While you can remove it (havent tried removing specifically in c#), by ensuring your MDI child has no titlebar, its the best way for a user to tell which child they are addressing (as the text will help) it helps them move the children around if they arent maximized.

Set the FormBorderStyle property of the child form to none.

I am sorry, but setting FormBorderStyle = None did not worked.

Make sure you have turned off the controlbox, the min + max buttons and that the caption is nothing.

I am sorry, but setting FormBorderStyle = None did not worked.

Not the way you write it here. FormBorderStyle is an enumeration type. Do it like this:
Child1.FormBorderStyle = FormBorderStyle.None;
Child1.Show();

It worked with me, but I would advise not to use this unless you absolutely want to. See the first answer of LizR.