A day or so ago I got thoroughly stuck solving a frustrating problem in my little program that somehow has grown to 14000+ lines of new code. It turned out to be an issue where creating a from would change my data before I could display it in the form. I had loaded the data first, then created to form. As a part of the OnCreate process I would load the values from my data into TEdit controls, but the OnChange event would fire while the control was being created, before I could write my value to it, and that OnChange event would assign default Edit.Text string to my variable before I could write the original value to the TEdit. Tedious, but solved, many hours later. It reminded me again of how I probably still haven't learned to use Delphi controls properly. Self-taught, you know.

But the good news, in the process of debugging this I figured out a way to prevent this problem and to make it a lot easier to handle OnEnter and OnChange events in forms where I had many controls, and I thought I'd share, at the risk of illustrating the obvious to all you pros.

Anyway, instead of creating separate OnEnter and OnChange event handlers for each control, I now do this:

procedure TProcessForm.OptGasFlowOptionsChange(Sender: TObject);
var Value:single;
begin
  if (Sender as TNxNumberEdit).Focused then
  begin
    Value:=(Sender as TNxNumberEdit).Value;
    case (Sender as TNxNumberEdit).Tag of
      0 : DaqProject.Options.DeltaT:=Value;
      1 : DaqProject.Options.FlowRate1:=Value;
      2 : DaqProject.Options.FlowRate2:=Value;
      3 : DaqProject.Options.FlowRate3:=Value;
      4 : DaqProject.Options.FlowRate4:=Value;
      5 : DaqProject.Options.PurgeRate:=Value;
      6 : DaqProject.Options.PurgeTime:=Value;
    end;
  end;
end;

The only thing you do differently when setting the properties of your controls is to set the tag number.