I am a beginner python programmer and need some help with this problem.

To provide a code that will lowercase all consonants and upper case all vowels. Needs to be a relatively simple code (like 2-3 lines lol)

For example i have started this:
S=raw_input("Enter Sentence: ")
print S.upper() # This will capitalize all
print S.lower() # This will lowercase all

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Okay, well not to fully solve the problem for you i would do something like this:

S = raw_input("Enter a sentence:")

vowels = 'aeiou'

for letter in S:
    if letter in vowels:
        #letter is a vowel
        letter.upper()

Now that does nothing at all, just shows you an idea, what you need to do is have another variable and add the letter to it each iteration of the loop.. see if you can do that yourself.

If you have any questions about how this works just post!

Thanks, but I think I still need further clarification. Sorry if I'm being stupid, but this is seriously my first day at attempting to program.

So i understand that I need to add another variable that would be defined as the vowels (like v). But I think I'm still a bit lost after that. For instance i can't just capitalize v?

V="aeiou"
V.upper()

I know I can't (cuz when I tried it didn't work lol). So that means, that I need to define the vowels within the sentence. (the V in the S) And that's the part I am not understanding now. (And of course, i don't want you to write the program lol, just explain)

program should be like this
1) get sentence from user
2) check every latter if it is a vowel
3) if it is make it upper case.
you probably figured that out already. now to to thinks simpler first write code first reads every latter one by one. for example when user enter a sentence like
enter a sentence: hello
make it print
h
e
l
l
o

if you can do that rest is pretty easy, instead of printing it make it check if it is a or e or i or o.... if it is make it uppercase.