I am trying to write a simple program that reads in csv data from a text file, and then sums the values of the integers read in. I am new to C and trying to figure out small little programs to practice. I am able to get the file open, but it does not actually read in the values. Instead, it says the string read is simply the filename. I've been trying to figure it out. I know the actual code works because if I eliminate the file and input an array, it sums the values. Any ideas?

Here is the code:

#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>
int main()
{
   int x;
   int sum;
   char filename[] = "data.txt";
   FILE *file = fopen(filename,"r");

char *ptr;  
   ptr = strtok(filename, ",");
   sum = 0;
   if (file == NULL)
      {
      printf("File could not be opened.\n");
      getchar ();
      }
   else
   {
       while (ptr != NULL)
       {
       x = atoi(ptr);
       printf("The string is: %s\n", ptr);

sum = sum + x;
       ptr = strtok(NULL, ",");
       }
       fclose(file);
   }         
   printf ("The sum of the numbers is: %d\n",sum);
   getchar ();
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

all your program is doing is parsing the filename (see line 11). What you need to do is read a line from the file then call strtok() on the input buffer for that line, such as

char line[255];
while( fgets(line, sizeof(line), file)
{
    ptr = strtok(line, ","); // assume comma-deliminated csv file
    while(ptr != NULL)
    {
           // do something with this token
           //
           // now get next token
           ptr = strtok(NULL, ",");
    }
    fclose(file);
}

that made a HUGE difference...it works now!!!! I do have one question, though. Will this work even if we don't know how many values are in the file? I see that line has a size of 255...what if the file ends up having a lot more characters?

>>Will this work even if we don't know how many values are in the file?
Yes