for(int j = size; j > 0; --j)
            {
            temp = data[i];
            data[i] = data[j];
            data[j] = temp;         
            }       
         }
     }

this code does not reverse anything...I'm losing my mind here. I'm a non-trad student in a class with a bunch of hot shot kids...I'm afraid to speak up in class so I'm asking here.

Humble thanks for any assistance...

milhouse

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

public void reverse() {
  Object temp = new Object[INITIAL_CAPACITY];
  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

for(int i = 0; i < size; ++i) {
    for(int j = size; j > 0; --j) {
      temp = data[i]; 
      data[i] = data[j];
      data[j] = temp;
    }
  }
}

Check the highlighted section you are actually assigning the reference of an array of Objects to a "reference" of type "Object".
By the way what is "size" would you care to explain ?

...I'm afraid to speak up in class so I'm asking here.

So rather than make full use of the cash you paid for that class, you would rather keep your pride intact and run helter-skelter for the solution ??
I suggest you speak up in class and let your instructor know at what level you are. Also you might find that the others are not as "hot shot" and just like yourself, or maybe you could befriend one of the hot shot kids and learn from them, I myself picked up most of my logical analysis skills, debugging skills from my "hot shot" peers.

I'm just looking for some help.

size is the number of elements in the array

It's tough to find time to get help outside of class, because I work full-time and I am a full-time student.

I'm trying everything I can to make it through this class. After this I'm done with programming.

Thanks

Then the first thing you need to know is "temp" should just be of type Object, and initialize it to null. You do not need a temporary array of objects.