Hi, I am new to java and want to play around, I want to make a program that takes in input of lets say 5 numbers, and displays them separated by a space. For example I would enter 12345 and 1 2 3 4 5 would be returned.
this is what i have so far

package split;
import java.util.Scanner;
/**
 * @author gabec94
 */
public class split {

public static void main(String[] args) {
        System.out.printf("Enter a five digit number: ");
        Scanner input = new Scanner(System.in);
        String inputnumber = input.next();
        inputnumber = inputnumber.split("\t \t \t \t");
        System.out.printf("%s", splitnumber);

i was hoping to use the \t as tabs between each number netered, but i get errors, and cannot solve the problem. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 30 Replies

read the api on String.split(). it doesn't do what you think it is doing.

ahh I see, it separates each item by lines
now what would do what I need to do to get:
123-->1 2 3?

i assume you are going to keep your input saved as a string. if so, is it always a space between each element (char)? or will there be instances where it may be "12 3"?

if it is a space between each element, it should be pretty easy, you just need to work out how to references the elements of the String individually, and add in the whitespace.

There will not be instances where it will be 12 3, just simply everything entered separated by a space. I understand what you are saying, and spent the last half hour trying various things, but nothing seems to work, I have come to this forum as my last resort, as I have tried everything that I could think of. I would like to add in the \t between each character, but am lost of how to do that. Thanks.

in C, classes will teach you to treat a String is simply an array of chars, and i think you should keep this in mind here.