Hi to all...
I've just join and found this amazing website/forum today which is very helpful.

So here's the problem.. I need to find the factorial of an input number, I have a slight problem with my script, when i enter a value which is 11 upwards it doesn't print the exact value what should i add or remove to my script..THANKS!

Here's my script:

import java.util.*;
public class factorial{
public static void main(String[] args) {

int z;
double b= 1;
Scanner x=new Scanner(System.in);

System.out.print("Enter Number : ");
z=x.nextInt();

System.out.println("Factorial : " +z+ ":");
for (int i=1 ; i<=z; i++){
b=b*i;
}
System.out.println(b);
}

}

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I suspect that 11 factorial is greater than the maximum value of a Java int (about 2,000,000,000), so you'll have to use a different data type (eg long) to go bigger.

so instead of using
double b=1; -------> long=1; ?

Yes, try it

hey men.. thanks a lot, it's my first time in java.... and its not part of my subjects at school..just wanna learn it and use it in the future thnks

I suspect that 11 factorial is greater than the maximum value of a Java int (about 2,000,000,000), so you'll have to use a different data type (eg long) to go bigger.

You haven't even taken care to look at what he is using for the result of the factorial before commenting on the int capacity. He was using a double. Also try checking it yourself, even with b declared as an int he could easily go upto 16's factorial before causing any problem. And you haven't cared to understand the problem and explain the same to him. Refrain yourself from posting wrong information.

@OP: The problem is caused because you are, (were, infact) using double, not that it gives a wrong answer, it gives it in a format that would have caused you to get confused. I ran the program and here's what I observed.