I know the dos command is "shutdown" then with your parameters of "-s -t xxx" etc.

Anyways so "How to shutdown your computer using C++?"

Thanks, Regards X

Recommended Answers

All 44 Replies

Try system().

Im a newb to C++, what paramters need to be used with the functions and do they require an include file? possible small example?

Thanks, Regards X

Something like this

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{

system("shut down -s -t 10");
return 0; 

}

Shuts it down in ten seconds this is using dev c++

It is "shutdown" no space but even then didnt work, are you 100% sure it worked with yours?

Firstly, don't use sysrtem. use the function given to you by AncientDragon.

Secondly for an example, read the page it has a link to one.
Thirdly, that page tells you what parameters are needed, what they could be and what they do. Also it tells you what headers you need etc.

Please read information when someone points you to it, they don't do it for fun. They do it to try and help.

Chris

Ok thankyou Chris for that abusive and useless post. (If I didnt need help I wouldnt have posted)

If someone can give me an example using ExitWindowsEx(), like power_computer tried to give me one using system("").

My attemps have included:

ExitWindowsEx(EWX_POWEROFF, SHTDN_REASON_MAJOR_OTHER);
 // AND
system("shutdown -s -t 180");

So any ideas?

Thanks, Regards X
Thanks

Delete line 3 (system(...) because its not needed. Otherwise, your line #1 looks ok to me, as long as you are running as administrator account.

Ya they were just my attemps nothing works, this is my whole code below.
I am assuming that my ExitWindowsEx line is fine? (Whoops my internet is lagging didnt see ur second line)
Am I missing include files? Variables? Etc? I have vista also.
So what looks to be the problem?

// Include Files
#include <iomanip>
#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <time.h>
#include <windows.h>
using namespace std;

int main () {
    // Shutdown