int j=762;
 char str2[]="hello";
 if(str1==str2)
   printf("true %d\n",--j);
 else
   printf("\nfalse %d\n",j--);
 return 0;
}

//the above code prints "false 762", why?
I am new to C programming and I came across this in a programming contest in my college.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

>>if(str1==str2)

Can not compare two strings like that. use strcmp() if( strcmp(str1,str2) == 0)

>why does the above code work?
Because there are only two things you can do with a function: take its address and call it. If you're not doing one, you're doing the other, and C basically ignores redundant levels of indirection on a function. This will work too:

#include <stdio.h>

int main ( void )
{
  (********&*&printf) ( "foo\n" );
  return 0;
}

>the above code prints "false 762", why?
Because you're comparing two pointers that have a different address. You don't compare strings that way because the == operator doesn't perform a content comparison on arrays, it performs a pointer comparison of the address of the arrays.

thanks a lot for replying

The problem is in the line:

if(str1==str2) ...

In plain C, you cannot compare two strings directly.
You must call standard library function strcmp() like this:

if (strcmp(str1,str2) == 0 ) // ==0 means comparison successful

Hope helps.

// a code which prints "hello world"
#include<stdio.h>
int main()
{
 (&printf)("hello world");
 return 0;
}
why does the above code work?

#include<stdio.h>
int main()
{
 char str1[]="hello";
 int j=762;
 char str2[]="hello";
 if(str1==str2)
   printf("true %d\n",--j);
 else
   printf("\nfalse %d\n",j--);
 return 0;
}

//the above code prints "false 762", why?
I am new to C programming and I came across this in a programming contest in my college.

>Hope helps.
Congratulations, it only took you seven days longer than Ancient Dragon to discover the same problem and post the same solution. :icon_rolleyes:

commented: turning the gray cookie green. just because. +6