Hey, I'm a high school student who is fairly programming and I was curious as to how to input a single character without entered an End of Data marker (e.g. newline character/Enter)

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <ctype.h>

int main ()
{
    char ch;
    switch (toupper(getchar()))
    {
           case 'A':
                puts("You entered the letter A");
                break;
           case 'B':
                puts("You entered the letter B");
                break;
           default :
                   puts("You entered niether A nor B");
                   break;
    }
    system("pause");
}

The problem I found was that
fgetc(),scanf(),fscanf(),getchar() all require you to press the Enter button in order for you to retrieve you input. I would like function or solution which allows me to input the character without pressing enter.

A practical example as to what I mean is in the command prompt the command pause does not force you to press enter, it waits for you to input a character and discards it.

#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
    system("pause");
}

I would like a solution to do exactly this except I do not want to discard the character entered.
(sorry if I was repetitive or redundant)

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

conio.h (if available to you) has the function _getch() which is unbuffered and does not echo the character read.

conio.h (if available to you) has the function _getch() which is unbuffered and does not echo the character read.

Do you know any site where i can get information on other functions in this header, I like to learn as much as I can about header files I use. Also thank you for your help, it worked perfectly.

i wish i could give you half a cookie, for your halfassed solution.

sure you can write a program with conio.h, but it will be broken on most every non-microsoft systems.