Hi All,

I am just learning Java and there is a concept that I cannot grasp. I am writing a simple exercise program that works with stacks. I have a sum method for two different types - Integer and Double. They both have the same logic, so it seems redundant to do it this way. I thought it would be possible to write one method that takes either type. So I have read about generics and still cannot figure out a solution. Is it at all possible?

Here are my add methods:

// Return the sum of the stack
  public static Integer sum (Stack<Integer> stack) {
    Integer sum = 0, current;
    Stack<Integer> temp = new Stack<Integer>(); 

// calculate the sum
    while (!stack.empty() ) { 
      current = stack.pop();
      sum = sum + current;
      temp.push(current);
    }

// rebuild the stack
    while (!temp.empty()) { 
      stack.push(temp.pop());
    }

return sum;
  }

// Return the sum of the stack
  public static Double sum (Stack<Double> stack) {
    Double sum = 0.0, current;
    Stack<Double> temp = new Stack<Double>(); 

// calculate the sum
    while (!stack.empty() ) { 
      current = stack.pop();
      sum = sum + current;
      temp.push(current);
    }

// rebuild the stack
    while (!temp.empty()) { 
      stack.push(temp.pop());
    }

return sum;
  }

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

Both the Integer and Double objects extend Number. So you could do the following:

public static Number sum (Stack<Number> stack) {

Note that this method will require you to check if the numbers are Integers or Doubles.

Also, remember that you can't use the + operation to add objects.

Why create a new stack in these methods. Just iterate thru the stack and add the elements?

int sum = 0;
for (int i: stack) {
  sum += i;
}

Here part of a possible solution.. the following compiles OK

public <T> T sum(Stack<T> stack) {
	T sum;  // really want to say    T sum= 0;
	for (T num : stack){
		// can't do this:  sum += num;
	}
	return sum;
}