Hi there,

I'm quite new to python and have a question regarding list matching. What would be the most efficient method of searching for matching items in a list?

Ideally, the code would look like:

list1 = ['spam', 'eggs', 'bacon']
list2 = ['spam', 'ham', 'king richard']

matchitems(list1, list2)

"There is/are X matching item(s)" (in this case 1)

Am I right in thinking the best way to approach this would be with regular expressions? Perhaps a raw string search which adds to a counter every time an item is found in both lists?

I will be dealing with lots of large lists (music tags) so would like to work on an efficient method for this.

Any advice much appreciated (and if I've missed anything obvious, then apologies, I have looked through the documentation but there isn't much regarding this problem apart from using regexes).

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Just to add, is there any merit to turning the lists into tuples and hashing the items? Then the keys can be matched. I'm not too sure how this would affect efficiency though.

Oh i did exactly the same exercise myself when learning about lists, what you need to know here is about the "in" keyword. It is used to check if "a in b" so what we can do is check if item a is in list b. If it is then we have a match. Get it? I hope so. If not here is an example:

def getMatches(first, second):
    count = 0
    for item in first:
        if item in second:
            count += 1
    return count

list1 = ['spam', 'eggs', 'bacon',"ham"]

print "there are ",getMatches(list1, list2)," matches"

Hope that helps you on your way!
:)

I don't know how efficient that would be, especially for a large list. The in operator in this context basically loops through the sequence until it finds a match, returning false if it doesn't.