Right. Basically I'm new to Python ( Go on call me a noob) and I'm trying to make a program that will open certain programs when you give the right password. But i just can't seem to get it to open the right files. So far, I am only trying it out on Mozilla Firefox and Nmap - Zenmap GUI. here's the code if you want to see it:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
def get_password():
for k in range(1):

encoded = "sqrMHtl8"
password = raw_input("Enter your password: ")
if password == encoded.encode('rot13'):
return True
return False

def start():
if get_password():
print "Success!"
def menu():
print "Welcome to Program Selector"
print "Your Options are: "
print " "
print "1. Mozilla Firefox"
print "2. Nmap - Zenmap GUI"
print "3. Exit this program"
print " "
return input ("Choose your program: ")
loop = 1
choice = 0
while loop == 1:
choice = menu()
if choice == 1:
import os
os.system("cd \..\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\ Start firefox.exe")
loop = 0
elif choice == 2:
import os
os.system("cd \..\Program Files\Nmap\zenmap\ START zenmap.exe")
loop = 0
elif choice == 3:
loop = 0
else:
print "Wrong password!"

if __name__ == "__main__":
start()

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

os.system("cd \..\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\ Start firefox.exe")

"cd" = change directiory. You want to execute the program which you should be able to do by calling it from os.system()
os.system("\..\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\ Start firefox.exe")
Check this directory to make sure you want to call "Start firefox.exe" instead of "firefox.exe" or "/Start/firefox.exe". I'm not familiar with MS windows but the file has to exist in order to call it. os.system is the same as clicking on the file, so you want whatever name you would click on.

But you should get used to using subprocess instead of os.system as it is the preferred way.
subprocess.call(["\..\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\ Start firefox.exe"], shell=True)