Alright, so I am very new to c++ and I just felt like doing a little encryption experiment. In about ten seconds of thinking I've decided that for my encryption I want to:

Get the ASCII value of a string of text entered by the user, and store it in a variable...
Get a key also supplied by the user and store that into a variable.
Take the two variables, send them through an algorithm, and spit out the result.

Simple.

My problem is that I cannot seem to figure out how to convert the text into an ASCII value.
Any thoughts?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I was trying to understand what's the ASCII value of a string of text (about 10 seconds or even more)... Alas... Can you explain what is it?

Now I see why you cannot seem to figure out how to convert the text into an ASCII value.

However if you want to get int value of a single char, that's it:

char c = '!';
int  i = c;
// or (int)c
commented: LOL, The ASCII value of a string :D +7
commented: Maybe he meant: ASCII - A whole S(tring) C(onversion) to I(ntegral) I(ntegers)... :) +1

I was trying to understand what's the ASCII value of a string of text (about 10 seconds or even more)... Alas... Can you explain what is it?

Now I see why you cannot seem to figure out how to convert the text into an ASCII value.

However if you want to get int value of a single char, that's it:

char c = '!';
int  i = c;
// or (int)c

Im not sure that I follow what you are saying....:/

What I want to do is get the ASCII value of a letter, (all the letters in a string) and store it in a variable that I can call on later and manipulate....

Hope that clears things up...

Have you ever read my post above? What's ascii value of all letters in a string? Didn't you understand that it's a nonsense?
Well, probably your string value contains in a (string) variable. What's a problem? Manipulate it as you wish!

Ok here is the code i have right now....Anyone want to help guide me?