Hi all. I am new to Python and have a problem regarding data structures.

In my application I will be having several messages and my own type of IDs (Lamport clocks) to go with these messages. I will need to frequently ask for specific messages based on the ID. Hence a dictionary seems a better choice than a list, as I will be using my own IDs to index into the data structure. However, the problem is that I will also at times ask for a specific message based on the ID key, but then want _all_ messages with a higher ID returned as well. From my research, there are two problems with a dictionary then: 1. it can't be sorted (only returns a sorted list), 2. even if it was possible to sort a dictionary, it is not possible to iterate over it from a given location.

So, it seems I want the best of both worlds: specific indexing using my own IDs/keys (not just by list element location), sorting and the ability to start iterating from a specific location. I am trying to prevent having to scan through a list from the beginning to find the desired ID, and then return all elements after that. Is there another data structure or design pattern which will do what I want? Thanks a lot for any help! :)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Basically you just want to put the keys from the dictionary into a list and sort that list. Then if you iterate through the sorted list of keys. Like this:

my_dict = { 'z': 1,  'a': 2,  'g': 3 }
sorted_keys = sorted(my_dict.keys())

for key in sorted_keys:
    print '%s = %s' % (key, my_dict[key])

running this results in:

a = 2
g = 3
z = 1

Hi Kernel. Thanks for that info. I have read about this technique, but I am pretty sure it doesn't solve my problem. I want to avoid having to iterate through a list from the beginning of it, but instead be able to index directly into it like in a dictionary using my own IDs (not the location of the list element), but then be able to iterate from that point on.