Hi guys,

Im pretty new to C# and I have a problem hoping that most of you could solve cause you are quite an experienced developers :)
Here's my problem: I have a simple Windows Application Form with a dataGridView and a button. I want when the button is clicked to fill a simple dataTable and bind it to the dataGridView. The problem is that it always add the same row I mean it adds nine identical rows. But when I put a breakpoint at the end of the outer foreach() everything works great and i have different rows with different values that originlly comes from generateRandomValue(). I tried with row.AcceptChanges() because I think that it's caching row data but no luck again :(

Here's my code:

private void generateRandomGenes_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{

//header row
foreach (DataColumn item in adapter.Table.Columns)
{
DataColumn header = new DataColumn();
header.ColumnName = item.ColumnName;
header.DataType = item.DataType;
randomGenes.Columns.Add(header);

}

// Make data line
int row_number = 1;
for (int rows = 0; rows < 10; rows++)
{

DataRow row = randomGenes.NewRow();
row["Name"] = "artificial gene " + row_number;

int col_number = 1;

foreach (DataColumn column in randomGenes.Columns)
{

if (col_number < 21)
{
row[col_number] = generateRandomValue(adapter.Table, col_number);

col_number++;

}

}

randomGenes.Rows.Add(row);
row.AcceptChanges();

randomGenes.AcceptChanges();

if (row_number <= 9)
row_number++;

}

dataGridView1.DataSource = randomGenes;

}

Please, any suggestions. I'll really appreciate your help!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Maybe posting the rest of the code (or entire project) will help. The adapter.table is a bit of a mystery.
The acceptchanges is not really needed until later after the rows have all been added. I think the use of the adapter object in the for loop may be at the root of the problem, but until it is more obvious as to what that object is... it is just an assumption.