Hi,

I am a newbie to C++ and want to know how to parse thru a binary file. I am having some trouble with some simple code.

I have a sample binary file(test.bdb) that has "0069 0045 0089 0090" in the file.

Here is my code for the file.

ifstream infile;
infile.open("test.bdb", ios::in | ios::binary);
char* buffer = new char[4];
infile.read(buffer, 4);

I can't seem to read the binary file correctly. I just want to first be able to parse for "0069"(first entry of the binary file) butI don't see "0069" in buffer when I run the program. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Well as I see it only thing I would comment on is this :

is not necessary because you have declared infile as ifstream pointer.
So this would be sufficient :

infile.open("test.bdb",ios::binary);

And ya apart from this I don't see any problem in the code frankly.But I would think it would be better if you checked the BDB file format and if your compiler has the bindings to read from such a file.

First: look at csurfer's post, second: look at this :)

BTW, Not related to the problem though: Do you deallocate the assigned memory as well (somewhere further in your code) ?

Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think your actually intending to read the file as binary. Your file contains the "characters" 0069... So 0 would give you 48, 6 would give you 54, etc. according to ASCII. Try taking out the ios::binary flag.

Are those four different integers? Looks like a normal text file to me, not a binary file. If it were binary file then you wouldn't be able to read those integers. Try this:

int x;
infile.read( (char*)&x, sizeof(int));

or this

infile.read(buffer, 4);
int x = *(int *)buffer;

also this after removing ios::binary flag and reading as normal text file.

int x;
infile >> x;