I have never programmed before or used Linux (didn't even know what that was before a few days ago,) well I got a book for beginning C++ and a book for Ubuntu Linux. My stepdad says it would be best to learn C++ on windows and not to even mess with Linux yet, I on the other hand want to learn both. Is this too much? I've read things online and I can just write my C++ programs in the Linux, (kernel?), just curious on what people have got to say.
Thanks.
P.S. I am reading all my own questions online and eveything so please don't get annoyed with me thinking I'm trying to skip researching all this. It's just there is so much information and so many different versions of everything it's difficult to go through.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

valinux,

In your previous post; you said that you get a computer with WinXP. My suggestion is that you have to start C++ on windows operating system first. By the way, which c++ compiler you have?

I have never programmed before or used Linux (didn't even know what that was before a few days ago,) well I got a book for beginning C++ and a book for Ubuntu Linux. My stepdad says it would be best to learn C++ on windows and not to even mess with Linux yet, I on the other hand want to learn both. Is this too much? I've read things online and I can just write my C++ programs in the Linux, (kernel?), just curious on what people have got to say.
Thanks.
P.S. I am reading all my own questions online and eveything so please don't get annoyed with me thinking I'm trying to skip researching all this. It's just there is so much information and so many different versions of everything it's difficult to go through.

Hello There,

I don't think that's to much at all, but i think you can't do one till you know the other.