hi all,

i am pretty new to Python(a very new to this forum). have been programming in C & C++.

i have a DLL written in C which i need to use. i would like to access it through Python instead of using Visual C++.

i am having a problem with this though. i hope someone here can help.

lemme start with my DLL definition:

#ifndef DLL_ABC_H
#define DLL_ABC_H

//Exported functions
#ifndef DLL_ABC
   #ifdef __BORLANDC__
      #define DLL_ABC   _export 
   #else
      #define DLL_ABC __declspec(dllexport) __stdcall 
   #endif
#endif

extern "C"
{
   //Version of the DLL
   extern void DLL_ABC Info_Version_ABC(char *sVersion);

extern BYTE DLL_ABC B_ABC_Function01(BYTE *pbParam1);

extern BYTE DLL_ABC B_ABC_Function02(BYTE * pbParam2,BYTE *pbParam3);

extern BYTE DLL_ABC ABC_Function03(char * sFileNameIn, char * sFileNameOut,BYTE * pbParam4);

}
#endif

basically, its the byte pointers that are causing the problem. i need to work in hexadecimal here.
(param 4 is to be read in. Funtions 01 and 02 set params that wld be used by function 3 to calculate param4.)
example of use of DLL is as such:

BYTE pbParam4[16];
BYTE pbParam1[16]={0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F};
BYTE pbParam2[16]={0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F};
BYTE pbParam3[16]={0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F,0x0F};

B_ABC_Function02(pbParam2,pbParam3);
B_ABC_Function01(pbParam1);

ABC_Function03("FileIn.txt", "FileOut.txt",pbParam4);

in my Python script, i have the following:

abc = ctypes.windll.DLL_ABC

p2 = 0x0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F
p3 = 0x0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F
byte = ctypes.c_byte()
byte = abc.B_ABC_Function02(ctypes.byref(ctypes.c_void_p(p2)), ctypes.byref(ctypes.c_void_p(p3)))

p1 = 0x0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F
byte = abc.B_ABC_Function01(ctypes.byref(ctypes.c_void_p(p1)))

p4 = 0x0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F0F