I am attempting to see have much run time a program takes, and eventually check the runtime of different pieces of the program. (As it runs it seems to get slower and slower without explanation)
Anyways, I tried the sample code posted on a super simple program.
If I wanted to use it at multiple stages in a larger program (in c) would I simply repeat the printf part? Or is there a better way to do this?
I am very new to programming, and got drafted into trying to fix up an inefficient and giant program for my university.
Any help is greatly appreciated

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

without buying $$$ some expensive profiling programs, that would be about the simplest way to do it.

> As it runs it seems to get slower and slower without explanation
That sounds like it's consuming memory to me.

You haven't said which Operating system or compiler you're using.
Some come with $0 profilers.

> I am very new to programming, and got drafted into trying to fix up an inefficient and giant program for my university.
Who's managing this?
Throwing as many bodies at the problem as they can find isn't going to solve anything.

The program was originally written in Matlab, which I am very familiar with. It quickly became obvious that the program (multiple embedded For loops, thousands of runs and numerous random number generators) would be better for distribution and speed in C.
The OS I am using is the newest version of linux. I am using the gcc compiler that came with the OS.
What it comes down to, is I have about a year to finish the program, under a grant to teach non computer literate majors (me) how to program.
thanks for the help

commented: i'ma give you some positive rep because ... well, just because. good luck. :) +12

> under a grant to teach non computer literate majors (me) how to program.