A friend of mine programs in php and ruby. But we were talking about our projects and I brought up how I don't do much database type applications because I find it boring. And we somehow got on the subject of SQL.

This is more of a discussion question, as I am not looking for the solution to any definitive problem.

Im new to the whole LINQ concept. I never have used it, but I have seen it used, and It seems to be a kinda of "middle man" between objects and databases or XML files. And someone please correct me if Im wrong. But it seems to be a way of using queries to choose properties from objects in a collection as if there were in a database.

That seems a bit opposite of what I am looking for. I was introduced a concept, that there could be an object. that could be mapped to a database. And it would be as simple as inheriting a new class from this object, specifying its database path and type, Then choosing from it a table, the inherited object would then have properties of the same name as the columns in the table and could be manipulated easily, then calling an inherited method like .save(); would simply update your database, with no direct SQL strings having to ever be created , adapted, or executed.

anyone know of this and in a feeling to share? or can someone suggest some good reading material on the matter, and please only serious links.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Alright. I have read those pages in full. The First page shows how to use the designer to map an sql server 2000 database automatically to an object. and that's pretty simple, but what about say a MS Access database, something more modular like for a desk top application? The 2nd page shows describes using javascript to interact with an XML file for setting for some 3rd party tool called Hibernate.

Am I to understand that in order to use ORM I need some outsides tools? that the .net framework can't naively do this through code?