I am still rather new to the Linux OS and need some detailed advice on the installation of Python3.1 on my Ubuntu machine.

Python3.1 is not in the Ubuntu package repository yet.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Member Avatar for sravan953

In Linux Mint, you just to go to Package Manager, and tick Python, and install it, dunno whether it works for Linux or not!

I am still rather new to the Linux OS and need some detailed advice on the installation of Python3.1 on my Ubuntu machine.

Python3.1 is not in the Ubuntu package repository yet.

If you perform an apt-cache search python | grep -E "31|3\.1" do you get any hits?

Alternately try an apt-cache search python3 . If nothing comes up for either query then you'll need to go the manual route.

This question is better asked/searched on Ubuntu's forums. The answer is something in the neighborhood of copying the 3.0 install and changing to 3.1, to or use apt-get's install from source-I haven't done it but this might help https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-users/2005-July/042275.html
http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/apt-howto/ch-sourcehandling.en.html

If you do install from source, (not the same as using apt-get to install from source), read the README file, as you have to do something like "make alt-install" otherwise it could overwrite an existing Python install instead of installing in a separate library directory.

Ok what you do is download the python 3.1 .tar.bz2 file here. extract it to your desktop. this is my website and its unfinished...

enter this in your terminal..

cd  ~/Desktop/Python-3.1/

./configure

if this turns up no errors continue else your missing some dependencies.

make

sudo make install

enter your password and vwala...

by the way it will make 3.1 your default python interpreter... read the readme in the python folder that you extract to see what commands you have to enter to make it your secondary interpreter...

the last two commands will take awhile...