Hey,just wanna consult any expert,currently i'm studying visual basic.NET myself by using this book "Sybex Mastering Visual Basic 2008",all i wanted to know is i can't find any task or homework to evaluate how well my understanding to it,of course,i'm not like some other people who just read over the book,and copy paste the code,i've try understand it and try to alter something to see the effect,so is there any method to boost my skills?? THANK YOU^^

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I'm by no means an expert, I started like you with reading books though, and the best advice I had been given was find an app that you want and make it. Because of that I made an app that sent me an e-mail when the my computers IP address changed. Worked great until I came across DynDSN and began using that...

Reading books and meandering through forums is definitely a step in the right direction.

I'd recommend familiarizing yourself with the terminology and their uses for most of the framework. Such as constructors, destructors, interfaces, attributes, generics, inheritance, and modifiers (i.e.: Friend, Protected), etc. No need to worry about trying to become "efficient" (for lack of a better word) but be able to look through the code and understand what it's doing. When you don't know what's going on (and it's not sloppy code) then look up what's causing the problem.

Unfortunately, I can't think of any VB .Net sources off the top of my head to direct you to, but there are tons of tutorials found through Google.

Hey,just wanna consult any expert,currently i'm studying visual basic.NET myself by using this book "Sybex Mastering Visual Basic 2008",all i wanted to know is i can't find any task or homework to evaluate how well my understanding to it,of course,i'm not like some other people who just read over the book,and copy paste the code,i've try understand it and try to alter something to see the effect,so is there any method to boost my skills?? THANK YOU^^

Hi caramel,