hi frnds,
I am new to programming. As i have to start learning languages, as my first step i decided to learn C as it is said to be the basic and most important. Can someone suggest me some way to increase my interest in C by giving examples of some marvellous things that can be done in C and CPP.
thnks in adv.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

itzAB> Can someone suggest me some way to increase my interest in C by giving examples of some marvellous things that can be done in C and CPP.
Sorry no marvelous things here about C or C++. Just excruciating pain and frustration.
You better off with wonderful programming languages like C# or Java. ;) Just kidding. I mean...the part of wonderful + C# and Java.

Take a look at the first thread of this forum. There are a lot of posts dedicated to you.

commented: "excruciating pain and frustration". Yup that sum's it up there. +3

Start with something simple, like python.

You'll actually get some useful things done in a fairly short time frame.

It'll take 6 months of hard graft before you're in any shape to write a useful program in C. You HAVE to think of everything (and there's a lot to think about). Whole books have been written on the traps which exist in C for the unwary programmer.

C is the kind of language where if you ask "I want to hang myself", it will happily give you the rope to do it. And just for fun, it will occasionally replace the rope with bungee cord just to see what happens next.

commented: bungee cord - A similar thought was being formatted in my brain as soon as you mentioned the rope. +17

I reccomend starting with QBASIC (almost everyone is familar with basic, so it can be used to communicate idea's to other programmers) or python (python is popular, even nasa uses it apparently).