Hi all,

I'm a student learning Java right now, so I'm still very new to what Java can do.
I've written a program to perform a word count (thanks to VernonDozier for help with case-sensitivity) but another problem has come up. The program is identifying words with punctuation to be different from words without punctuation - for example, "process" would be considered different from "process.", as if it were at the end of a sentence.

The reason this is important is that it's part of the assignment requirements for the program to be able to identify distinct words.

I currently have no idea how to address this whatsoever. All help is appreciated!

Thanks!

The program is as follows:

import java.util.*;

public class WordCount {

public static void main(String[] args) {
		// Defining total word count variable
		int totalCount = 0;

// Setting up linked hash map so output will display words in order of appearance
		Map<String, Integer> textInput = new LinkedHashMap<String, Integer>();

// Determining the number of distinct words and their frequencies of occurrence
		for (String a : args) {
			a = a.toLowerCase();
			System.out.println(a);
        	Integer freq = textInput.get(a);
        	textInput.put(a, (freq == null) ? 1 : freq + 1);
        					}

// Determining the word count using the occurrence frequencies
		for (int Values : textInput.values())
		    if (Values >=2) {
		    	totalCount += Values;
		    }
		    else {
		    	++totalCount;
		    }

// Determining correct grammar and printing word count results
		// If there's only one word
		if (totalCount == 1) {
			System.out.println("The total word count is " + totalCount + " word.");
			System.out.println("The word is " +textInput.keySet());
		}

// If there's no words
		else if (totalCount == 0) {
			System.out.println("There are no words.");

// If there's more than one word
		} else {
			System.out.println("The total word count is " + totalCount + " words.");