While I am familiar java but i am basically new to creating a GUI using java. I need to make it so when a user clicks on a button another window pops up displaying various statistics about that product. The thing is the amount of information I need to display can't fit in one window vertically so I am trying to use a JScrollPane but the scroll bars dont show up. Oddly when fooling around and accidentally making everything appear on one line a horizontal scroll bar showed up but i have yet to get a vertical scroll bar to appear. Here is my code that uses the JScrollPane:

JFrame popupFrame=new JFrame();
                String title=((JButton)event.getSource()).getText();
                popupFrame.setTitle(title+" Statistics");
                popupFrame.setSize(500,700);
                JPanel popupPanel =new JPanel();
                popupPanel.setLayout(null);
                popupPanel=createLabels(popupPanel);
                JScrollPane statPane= new JScrollPane(popupPanel);
                popupFrame.add(statPane);
                popupFrame.setLocation(500,100);
                  popupFrame.setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.DISPOSE_ON_CLOSE);
                return popupFrame;

I have looked online and I felt like I was doing it right but as i said im pretty new to this stuff.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Use setPreferredSize method to set size (height/width) of panel.

Use setPreferredSize method to set size (height/width) of panel.

I tried this but still the same problem

Ok the above i think had ended up working but I never posted back here, however i was unable to run the program for a while and now it no longer works. Here is my code:

JFrame popupFrame=new JFrame();
                String title=((JButton)event.getSource()).getText();
                popupFrame.setTitle(title+" Statistics");
                popupFrame.setSize(650,750);
                JPanel popupPanel =new JPanel();