Hi All. I am new to this web site and find it very helpful. Keep up the good work.

I am also a Novice ( at best) when it comes to programming but really would like to master VB.
My question is, As I design my form, I would like to save the data that a user inputs into an Access Database (or for that matter it could even be an Excel Spreadsheet ) sequentially. Updating the database reguarly as the user inputs new data.

I know I need to lear ActiveX but as of now I do not know it. Is there a code given to a command button that will save the data in a given form to an Access Database or Excel spreadsheet? What do I need to do?

Thanks in advance for your guidance and support. - Mike

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Hey. Thanks.

Well, there's a lot to explain here, and it's difficult to do so without screenshots. It's quicker if you visit a few sites on "connecting visual basic to a database." Check out the following. If you need any help, just post another question.

http://www.dutchthewiz.com/vb/db/
http://www.developerfusion.com/show/10/

In most cases, if you have a database such as SQL Server or Access, it's better to go through ODBC then access it directly (for Access). If you need help with that, let me know. :)

Thank you for the information.

I did find the web sites you provided helpful and will navigate through them to gain additional knowledge.

However, I would be seriously interested on connecting via ODBC. In a nut shell, I am basically trying to write a contact management application ( or address book ) and save the information to a database ( Excel or Access ). I read about the ODBC being the most reliable and simplest to implement but I may be wrong.

Again, Thanks for your help. Any guidance will be greatly appreciated. - - Mike D.

n1cole-