I have just started programming in c++ (yesterday), my background is in HTML, CSS and Javascript.
i'm on chapter 5: controlling program flow (c++ for dummies) currently creating a break in a "for loop".

Anyway'z my problem is, when i build and run the program all action's i want the program to take are executed fine but after there executed the damn "system("PAUSE")
return 0;"

dosent work it just executes the program then displays: -
"sh: line 1: PAUSE: command not found
breakDemo has exited with status 0."

also im writing my programs in Mac OS X xCode dose this have anything to do with my issue as the author of my book is demonstrating in dev-c++ for WIN systems.

any help you could give would be much appreciated, and thanks for your time.

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Yes it is because your OS is different. See what system(<command>) call does is, it invokes the Operating System shell API. Command PAUSE exists in Windows shell. So replace PAUSE with an equivalent MAC call and you will be fine.

cheers,
aj.wh.ca

Soo.. i need to be looking for a Mac OS X C++ resource site?

Not necessarily. You could just remove this line and run the program from a command shell. Or use a standard method of pausing such as cin.get.

ok i see either run the program in terminal (its our version of DOS i guess well UNIX command line shell) or simply replace "PAUSE" with "cin.get." so theres no other sytax required?

yeah thanks alot man i really appriciate your help(who ever posted) on this thread
HOLLA...

>so theres no other sytax required?
You may need to clear the stream of leftover junk:

#include <iostream>
#include <limits>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
  // Your program here

cin.ignore ( numeric_limits<streamsize>::max(), '\n' );
  cin.get();
}

Or alternatively:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
  // Your program here

cin.ignore ( cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() );
  cin.get();
}

Or if you think you can get away with it:

#include <iostream>