Hello all, I just bought a book on Python, and started to go through it (bought it for my children and myself). I'm having a problem importing 'easygui'. I am new to programming. I am trying to program on my Mac.

I downloaded easygui to the following:/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.5/lib/python2.5/site-packages/

When I go in Finder, I see a easygui83 file, that has the easygui in it.

When I type: import easygui in IDLE I get the following messages:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<pyshell#0>", line 1, in <module>
import easygui
ImportError: No module named easygui

What am I doing wrong? Is the easygui file in the wrong place?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

According to easygui's doc, you need a file easygui.py in your site-packages directory.
Note also that the doc says that using easygui with idle may lead to unpredictable results because idle is already a tkinter application.

easygui.py is in the easygui83 folder, which is in site packages. I also tried to import easygui when using SPE and it still told me no module named easygui or easgui83.

you should move easygui.py to site-packages. Is it the only file in the folder ?

you should move easygui.py to site-packages. Is it the only file in the folder ?

Yeah, I did that about 10 minutes ago and it worked. I wish I found you about 15 hours ago. It would have saved me a lot of stress, and the big headache.

Thanks a lot for all your help. I truly appreciate it.

IDLE have been reported to be troublesome, especially in GUI apps
Just check for modified version that can be downloaded at www.vpython.org

Yeah, I did that about 10 minutes ago and it worked. I wish I found you about 15 hours ago. It would have saved me a lot of stress, and the big headache.

Thanks a lot for all your help. I truly appreciate it.

My computer (mac osx) will not let me put it in site-packages. Any advice?
thanks.

My computer (mac osx) will not let me put it in site-packages. Any advice?
thanks.