i'm thinking how to do this since last week.

i can make a rps game in java, BUT not in OO way. just the simple ones.

what i want to do is a rps game - the OO way.

i planning this program to have two options, play with player and play with computer.

what classes and methods that i need to code?

i'm thinking of..
1. player class
---1.a choice method
---1.b processChoice method

2. startGame class
---1.?????
??????????????????

these are all i can think of! i know there's a better logic in creating this kind of progrm. ugh, i just started studying oo programming this day. noob.

tell me what are the methods and classes appropriate for this rock paper scissors game.

i an't asking for codes, just the methods and classes.. :)

please help. thanks.

quuba commented: OOP-very good idea +1

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

RPS is an extremely simple game. . because of that, it isn't really necessary to do it OP style - what would your objects be? The Rock, Paper, and Scissors need not be Objects because they are better represented as Strings (in my opinion). I suppose you could make the Players themselves Objects and make takeTurn methods and getWinner methods. getWinner could return the name of the player who won or "tie" to keep the game going.

Every player has a Hand which could be:
A rock, A paper, or A scissor

Every player could have:
A name, A hand, A number of Wins, A number of Losses, and a choice that will affect his hand/number wins/or number losses.

Every game could have:
A bunch of players, a way to know whos playing, a way to tell who won, and a way to tell everyone who won.

Player:
Enum choices;
String name;
Hand hand;
int wins, losses;

void makeChoice();
String getName();
Hand getHand();
int getWins();
int getLosses();

Game:
Player[] players;

void startGame();
Player getWinner(Players[] players);
String anncWinner(Player player);
main() //call everything