I'm trying to do what seems like a simple project, and find out who has an Access Database open. The basic code is below, and it works fine for me, (I'm a domain admin) but when a normal user tries to run it, they don't have the rights required.

Is there a way to change the GetObject("WinNT://....) statement to log in with other credentials, or, barring that, a better way to do this?

Thanks!

Private Sub Command1_Click()
On Error Resume Next
Dim fso
Dim FindPos
Dim strInput
Dim strWho

ListResults.Clear

strInput = Text1.Text
TextServer = Text2.Text

'  Bind to a file service operations object on “servername" in the local domain.
Set fso = GetObject("WinNT://" & TextServer & "/LanmanServer")

' Enumerate resources
If (IsEmpty(fso) = False) Then
    For Each resource In fso.resources
        If (Not resource.user = "") And (Not Right(resource.user, 1) = "$") Then
            FindPos = InStr(1, resource.Path, strInput, 1)

If (FindPos <> 0) Then
                    strWho = resource.user & "=" & resource.Path
                    ListResults.AddItem (strWho)
                End If
        End If

Next
End If
End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I take it the *.MDB is on a share as the back end to an existing system. Can the system itself be modified? Should be simple enough for programmer to add table and a quick loged in loged out switch in table. Then table could be queried. Just a thought...

BTW [ / code]

Good Luck

I take it the *.MDB is on a share as the back end to an existing system. Can the system itself be modified? Should be simple enough for programmer to add table and a quick loged in loged out switch in table. Then table could be queried. Just a thought...

BTW [ / code]

Good Luck

Thanks for the suggestion! The database is actually just a stand-alone Access database, and we have many of them. I'm trying to come up with a utility that will tell our users, or at least our helpdesk staff, who has it open.