I am new to python and programming this is my first time using the code (first assignment). I need help with writing a program to convert the code message entered by the user into ascii numbers, then find which number occurs 12% of the time, and have it represent the letter E (also t is the second most occuring letter at 9% and i'm not sure if I should use that to check), then once I know which letter E is, I have to find out how many letters E is from the letter used in the code to find the shift count.

I did this in lab with help from a TA to get started but I dont understand how to put the logic into code.

This program asked the user for a sentence and changes it into code by a shift of 13. I am completely lost.

import string

def main():

user = raw_input("Enter the message you want coded: ")

user = string.upper(user)

for i in user:
        if i != ' ':
            i = ord(i)
            i += 13
            if i > ord('Z'):
                i-= 26
            i = chr(i)
            print i,

main()

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

You may want to store your result in a string, so you can work with it ...

import string

def main():

encoded = ""
    for i in user:
        if i != ' ':
            i = ord(i)
            i += 13
            if i > ord('Z'):
                i-= 26
            i = chr(i)
            print i,     # test
            encoded += i
    print
    print encoded  # QVAAREVFNGRVTUG (what did I enter?)

main()

To assume that the letter E will have a 12% relative frequency is a little naive. It is better to assume that the relative frequency order in the English language is:
'ETAOIN SHRDLU'

so encoded = " " will result in what, the problem is I dont completely understand everything in this language and my teacher just expects us to know everything which i do not (i've talked to alot of people in the lecture and they feel the same way i do, but this doesnt matter, anyway).

#