Hi all,

I would like to know what to add to the following code to count the number of objects that have been created.

class CDDriver
{
	public static void main(String args[])
	{

CD cd1 = new CD("Kaiser "," up the khazi ",(double) 9.99);
		CD cd2 = new CD("Oasis "," morning glory ",(double) 3.99);
		CD cd3 = new CD("Bob Dylan "," Alreet Sunna ",(double) 6.99);

System.out.println("Artist \t\tTitle\t\tCost");
		System.out.println("====================================");
		System.out.println(cd1.toString());
		System.out.println(cd2.toString());
		System.out.println(cd3.toString());

}
}

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

add objects to the list

List<CD> cdList = new ArrayList<CD>();

and work with list.
you are going to the OOP!

hi,

thanks for the post.

im very very new at java. Does that count them?

i added System.out.println( List ); but it only outputs []

Please be patient :-)

How do i get it to display the number of objects?

Hi quuba: I went thru all this with him less than an hour ago - see topic "counting objects and totalling their values". He marked it solved, then asked exactly the same question. Good luck!

Hi James,

I thought it would be more sensibe to repost a break down of the question. I asked too much for me to digest you answers.

Im not daft, just very wet behind the ears.

Hi there. I'm sorry if I dumped too much on you too quickly.
I suggest you don't break down your requirements in steps like this - you'll get answers for the first requirement that may lead you down a blind alley as far as the following requirents are concerned. Get the design/strategy right for the totality of the requirements, then implement on step at a time.
Here's some background to the what and why of the code snippets I posted earlier.