Hello, I'm very new to python but made this as a sort of exercise. It is a loan calculator that takes into account user input.

r = input('What is your interest rate?   ')
t = input('How many payments will you make?   ')
la = input('What was the amount of the loan?   ')
rt = raw_input('Do you make your payments weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annually?   ')

r = r + .0

r = r / 100

rr = r / 52
x = (1.0 + rr) ** t
y = rr / (x - 1.0)
isloanweek = (rr + y) * la

rr = r / 12
x = (1.0 + rr) ** t
y = rr / (x - 1.0)
isloanmonth = (rr + y) * la

rr = r / 4
x = (1.0 + rr) ** t
y = rr / (x - 1.0)
isloanquarter = (rr + y) * la

rr = r / 1
x = (1.0 + rr) ** t
y = rr / (x - 1.0)
isloanannual = (rr + y) * la

whatloan = True
while whatloan:
    if rt == 'weekly':
        print isloanweek
        whatloan = False
    elif rt == 'monthly':
        print isloanmonth
        whatloan = False
    elif rt == 'quarterly':
        print isloanquarter
        whatloan = False
    elif rt == 'annually':
        print isloanannual
        whatloan = False
    else:
        rt = raw_input('Sorry that was not an option, please respond with weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annually:   ')

Note:
I moved this post to its own thread. As you look at the code there are many lines of repetitious code, a sign that a function is due. Can anybody help Mensa180 in a nice way to improve the Python coding style?

Mensa180, thanks for the code contribution!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Mensa: your code was very well structured and a nice example of reading user input then using it for calculation. Here's how I've modified your code:

def calc_payment(int_rate, num_pmnts, principal, freq):
    ''' This function will calculate the payment amount of a loan.
    @ Inputs
    - int_rate  - The interest rate of the loan
    - num_pmnts - The number of payments required
    - principal - The original amount of the loan (minus down-payment)