Ok, well I am JUST beginning to learn Java, and I have run into a little stumbling block. I am attempting to write a little applet, but it doesn't seem to want to run.

My Java code:

import java.awt.*;
import java.applet.*;

public class TestApplet extends Applet {
	public void paint(Graphics g) {
			g.drawString("Please work my little applet!", 20, 30);
	}
}

My HTML:

<HTML>
<HEAD><TITLE>Test Applet</TITLE></HEAD>
<BODY>
<applet code="TestApplet.class" width="300" height ="300">
</BODY>
</HTML>

So...I'm not quite sure where I am going wrong. I receive no errors while compiling and there isn't much code for me to mess up.

Could anybody help me with this problem?

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Read the Java tutorial on applets, here. You are missing a key method every applet needs.

Thanks for the link, except that example is not even working. I copied and pasted the code verbatim and I still get a little gray box of nothing.

Thanks again.

EDIT: Well, this is odd. I am able to view my applet within an IDE but not through a browser (Firefox 3.5). Any ideas to why this is?

EDIT: Well, this is odd. I am able to view my applet within an IDE but not through a browser (Firefox 3.5). Any ideas to why this is?

Not really lol. I never had to integrate them with webpages, I just had to make some for a class once. I'm sure someone else around here will know.

There are a couple of things you can check for this problem:
1. Is your browser set to "Enable Java" ? (Go to Tools > Options > Content Panel
2. Ensure that your applet file (class file) have the appropriate file-access permission and the browser should be able to read it (read/write access to files)
3. Read on security policies that go with your applets when deploying it to a browser.
2. Lastly, Did you get any error messages inside the browser?

hope that helps

commented: Thanks for picking it up :) +6

1. Yes, Java is enabled.
2. Both of the files have read/write/execute access.