I'm new to C++, i'm learning with the help of Stroustrup Principles of C++ book, with this forum etc
I'm doing console apps that treats and operates with numbers and so on, as i see you do the same, at least that's what i see people asks in the forum.

Also i found a website with the list of awesome programs made with C++ (photoshop and so on) so i wonder....how hard is the step from making console application to real world apps? why i don't usually see questions relating that in any c++ forums?
I mean...it's like hard to believe that what i'm learning now will lead me to creating real and useful apps (of course i'm not aiming in doing a photoshop 2, but you know)

I have the feeling that all the books, forums and so on only talk about console app and stuff like that, but in the other hand i'm told that photoshop, windows, and a lot of huge stuff is made with C/C++, so i'm kinda lost here.

Can anyone give some light in this matter?

THank you!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

how hard is the step from making console application to real world apps?

Many real world apps are also console apps, so the only real difference is that those GUI apps use a GUI library to make a pretty looking interface on top of the same kind of stuff that you would write in a console app. Of course real world apps also do a lot more than the practice programs you are writing now to get comfortable with the language. ;)

why i don't usually see questions relating that in any c++ forums?

The questions on forums are usually very focused. They might be a small part of a much larger program, but for the most part I think the majority of questions are coming from the people who are still learning basics and not the people who are experienced and trying to write a real world app. The experienced programmers can usually answer their own questions without asking for help by doing research.

it's like hard to believe that what i'm learning now will lead me to creating real and useful apps