Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Perl I am confused ? I will try to explain it. What i am trying to do is we have 26 branches and our central office generates data files like for income files (003.inc010105,003.inc020105,) /sales(003.sal010105) and many more reports on dialy basis in text format which is 08 kb to 15 kb. I mean to say when 003 logs in and wants income files all files pretaning to his branch 003+inc(income file)+date(s) will be availabe to him for download or view which is stored in a particular folder, and in the same order for sales or other reports. And in same manner for other branches 004,005 or others. Using a perl script for login.
We are sending sensitive/secret information via https.
May some one please show me some way.
Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

I'll be honest, I only vaguely understand what you need done. I can assist you in building a perl program that logs someone in, etc, etc, but I'm a little lost on your whole file structure with dates and stuff. I don't have enough information to help you with your problem, but if you could elaborate, I'd be glad to see what I can do.

Hi Comatose,
Thanks for your speedy reply.
I have text files something like this 003inc010205.txt / 003inc020205.txt (here 003 means branch code + (inc) file name + date)
These files are generated on daily basis only the last part of date is changed. And similarly for sales we have 003sal010205.txt and in the same fashion for other reports (branch code + file name + date)
The starting of the file denotes the code of branch 003 is xxx branch / 004 is yyy branch / 005 is zzz branch and so on.
Now when 003 logs in with a login Id as 003 and wants inc files all the files pertaining to 003inc+dates will be available to him for download. And in the same manner for other reports.
When 004 logs in and wants his inc files all files for 004inc+dates will be available for him.
These files are located in particular directory sub-folder.