hi everyone
i'm new in programing, so don't judge me if i will say something stupid...
i'm trying to write i poker game in C++ but have faced with several problems, the first one is how to determine a winner...
for example i player hand is:
Ace of spades card number is: 39
Four of spades 42
Six of spades 44
Ace of diamonds 0
King of diamonds 12
dealer:
Four of diamonds 3
three of spades 41
Seven of hearts 19
three of hearts 15
Five of diamonds 4
how to determine that player wins...? i could write down all combination... but there is thousands of them...

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You need to write a couple of hand scoring functions. You don't look for all possible combinations, but look at a player's hand and determine what, if any, of the poker hands it constitutes.

In evaluating a hand, you need to look at first the value of the cards, disregarding suit. Is there a pair, three of a kind, four of a kind? If there's a three of a kind, are the remaining cards a pair? If none of those, are the five cards in sequence, to make a straight? Lastly, check if all the cards are of the same suit, for a flush. The results of these last two tests tell if it's a straight flush.

One tip in creating these functions - sort the cards in the hand by value - makes most of these evaluations easier.

That's a start for evaluating a hand. Comparing two hands to determine a winner will add more complexity and further testing if hands are same type. But you can work on that after the basic evaluation is complete.

So, write us some code, show it, and we'll go from there.

I assume that each suit has a specific numbers associated to them; i.e. Diamonds are 0 - 12, Hearts are 15 - 27, etc. With that in mind, you can do some things to help.