Hey guys here is the problem I have two variables that need their values switched , but only if the value stored in the first is less than the value stored in the second. Tried a couple of things, but am at a brick wall, I am a newbie to VB.

Public Class Form1

Private Sub btnCheck_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnCheck.Click
        Dim getMarySales As Integer
        Dim getJeffSales As Integer
        If getMarySales < getJeffSales Then
            getJeffSales = txtGetMarySales.Text
            getMarySales = txtGetJeffSales.Text
        End If

End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

In line 6, you are comparing your newly created integers, which are both 0. You need to either assign them the values from the text box before the comparison, or compare the textbox values themselves (I suggest the assignment).

You should also be having a problem assigning the textbox values to the integers themselves, because textboxes not integers. You will probably want to throw a couple Int32.Parse() calls in there to convert them to integers.

How would I compare textbox values because if I assign values, b/c if I assign textbox values, the users couldn't enter their own, right? Please excuse my ignorance if I am wrong and please explain to me how to do that. Also I looked at the parse and see if this would be correct.

Public Class Form1

Private Sub btnCheck_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnCheck.Click

Dim getMarySales As Integer = txtGetMarySales.Text
        Int32.Parse(getMarySales)
        Dim getJeffSales As Integer = txtGetJeffSales.Text
        Int32.Parse(getJeffSales)
            getJeffSales = txtGetMarySales.Text
            getMarySales = txtGetJeffSales.Text
        End If
    End Sub
End Class