I am write a program that both uses inheritance and composition. I am a bit new to inheritance so I am a little confused on some aspects of it.

Let's say I have a class definition like this

class Month
{
  Week *week[4];
}; // class Month

class Week
{
}; //class Week

class Day : public Week
{
} // class Day

I understand what it means if I create a Week object in week[0], but what if I create a Day object? Will week[0] be a Day object with Week characteristics? The classes in my program is composed of an array similar to this. Can I just do something like week[0] = new Day instead of week[0] = new Week to make it a Day object instead of what it was intended to be in my class definition?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

To start off with, based on your example, I'm not sure you've got the general idea of inheritance. In general, you want to inherit from another class if the class you're building has all the attributes of the class you're inheriting from, plus some unique to this child class.
If that confuses you, let me give you an example.

class Car
{
//a car has four wheels.
// a car has an engine
}

class Truck: public Car
{
//a truck ALSO has four wheels
//a truck ALSO has an engine
//a truck has a bed
}

so, you wouldn't want to inherit a Week object from a Day object, because you can't, in essence, say that a Day IS A Week.

On to your later question. If you were to say weeks[0] = new Day(); then yes, it would create a day object, but by accessing it through the weeks array, you could only access the attributes of the "week" portion of it that was inherited.

I kind of noticed my example was bad as I was typing it, but I went with it anyway =P. I'll just use your example since it is more clear. I'll like to add that I have an array *Car[8]
If I do Car[0] = new Truck(), how can I access the "Truck" portion if I do Car[0]?

I have two print() functions in both Car and Truck and both of which are virtual. I thought that if I do something like