Hi,

As I'm new to C++, but not to programming, I tried to start simple by reading off value from the registry. I'm talking about standard values such as the processor's name.
I made a little function which checked how many processors the user has, that works fine. But I would then like to give the user the names of the processors. But I'm having trouble with the RegQueryValueEx function from Windows.h.
I use this function to retreive the name:

char * processor(double index)
	{
	HKEY key;
	LONG succeeded;

succeeded = RegOpenKeyEx(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, "HARDWARE\\DESCRIPTION\\System\\CentralProcessor\\"+(char)index, NULL, KEY_READ, &key);
	if (succeeded == ERROR_SUCCESS)
		{
		char *value = ;
		DWORD value_size = sizeof(value);

while (RegQueryValueEx(key, "ProcessorNameString", NULL, NULL, (BYTE *)value, &value_size) == ERROR_MORE_DATA)
			{
			value = new char[1];
			value_size = sizeof(value);
			}
		RegCloseKey(key);

return value;
		}
	else
		{
		return "FAILED";
		}
	}

There is no error, but an even more annoying problem: my computer has 2 processors, so the code has to return this:

processor(0) == "Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7300 @ 2.66GHz"
processor(1) == "Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7300 @ 2.66GHz"

But instead, is returns this:

processor(0) == ""
processor(1) == "FAILED"

Which isn't the same :P.
I was hoping that one of you knows what I do wrong. If so, please answer simple, as I do not know a lot about C++.

Ragoune

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

BUMP

line 9: >> char *value = ;
Will that even compile ????

>>DWORD value_size = sizeof(value);

value is a pointer, and the sizeof(any pointer here) is 4 on most 32-bit platforms.

you don't have to put that in a loop. Call it the first time with the size of the buffer = 0 and it will return the required size