Hi All,
I am getting the message "input string was not in a correct format" about the line " numline = Convert.ToDouble(num);"
The program is supposed to read a csv and convert the fifth line of the file to an double array. The line to be read in looks like (and keeps going with 20 more numbers in that form):
"22.925507, 0.0000000, 0.0000000, "

I'm new to C# and this seemingly simple task has taken surprisingly long! Thanks in advance :)

Liam

ArrayList mtext = new ArrayList(); //declare array list for all data to be stored in as strings
            string textline; //each line of text, one at a time.
            int i = 0; //counter for which value in textline
            double[] numline = new double[25]; //double equivalent of textline
            string[] textlinesplit = new string[25]; //after textline is split into seperate numbers
            using (StreamReader m_reader = new StreamReader(@"C:\Users\Andreas\Documents\out5.csv")) //initialize file
            {
                while ((textline = m_reader.ReadLine()) != null) //read until end of file
                {

if (textline.Length == 0) //if end of file, leave loop
                        continue;
                    if (mtext.Count == 3) //if we're on the 5th line of numbers, convert line to double array
                    {
                        textlinesplit = textline.Split(',');
                        i = 0;
                        foreach (string num in textlinesplit)
                        {
                            if (num != null)
                            {
                                numline[i] = Convert.ToDouble(num);
                            }
                            i++;
                        }
                    }
                    mtext.Add(textline); // insert line at end of list
                }
            }

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies