Hi guys,

I'm banging my head against the wall with this one.
I want to sort a <string> vector which contains the following:

"Pen 0.99"
"Pen 0.99"
"Paper 1.50"
"Pad 1.99"
"Paper 1.50"

Into a vector which would sort it as follows:

"Pen 1.98"
"Paper 3.00"
"Pad 1.99"

I know how to add up all the strings/converting to a number etc but I'm having trouble eliminating the 'duplicates' and tieing in the digit to the relative word.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Forgive me if im wrong but wouldn't this be a hell of a lot easier in an array?

string itemsArray[x][y]

itemsArray["pen"][1.99]

or something to this effect?
without writing some code to parse your alphanumeric string you're going to struggle how your doing it right now i think (imo)

hi there, cheers for the reply.

I've never used a two-dimensional container before so never considered it but will give it a shot.

string itemsArray[x][y]

itemsArray["pen"][1.99]

without writing some code to parse your alphanumeric string you're going to struggle how your doing it right now i think (imo)

Wrong. You can't have string and a float, in a regular array.

@OP, how do you wan't it to be sorted, aside from deleting
the duplicates, lexicographically?

I'm not quite sure what lexicographically means even after Googling it so please forgive my understanding!

I basically want to add up all the digits and assign it to it's relative word. Sounds simpler than it is because I'm still stuck :-(

string itemsArray[x][y]

itemsArray["pen"][1.99]

That's an associative array. They exist in some languages (i.e. PHP), but they don't exist in C++. A "map" would be a C++ alternative to an associative array.

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/stl/map/

It looks like you're trying to emulate a database-type query like "GROUP". You have two fields per record (product and price) and you are grouping by product to get the sum of all the prices. Easy in SQL, not so easy in C++.