I have been working on this program to count the number of zero's odd, and even numbers that a user inputs. I have tried different variations and cannot get it to go, I keep getting linker errors and cannot see where the problem is. I am new to this and could really use the help.

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>

void ClassifyNum(long remainder, long& countZero, long& countOdd, long& countEven );
void GetNum(long& num);
void Start(long remainder,long& countZero, long& countOdd, long& countEven);

using namespace std;

int main( )
	{
	long number;
	int numCounter;
	int userInput;
	long zero;
	long odd;
	long even;
	long remainder;
	char userAnswer;

do{
	Start(remainder,zero, odd, even);
	cout << "Please enter an number. " << endl;
	cin >> userInput;

for (numCounter = 1; numCounter <= userInput;numCounter++)
	{
		GetNum(number);
		cout << number << " ";
		ClassifyNum(remainder, zero, odd, even);
	}
	cout << endl;
	cout << "Go again? (y/n). ";
	cin >> userAnswer;
	cout << endl;
}while(userAnswer=='y');
	return 0;
}

void start(long remainder,long& countZero, long& countOdd, long& countEven)
	{
		remainder = 0;
		countZero = 0;
		countEven = 0;
		countOdd = 0;
	}

void GetNum(long& num)
	{
		cin >> num;
	}
	void ClassifyNum(long remainder, long& countZero, long& countOdd, long& countEven)
	{	if (remainder == 0)
		countZero++;
		else if (remainder%2 == 0)
			countEven++;
		else
			countOdd++;
	}

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

your function prototype :

void Start(long remainder,long& countZero, long& countOdd, long& countEven);

your function defintion :

void start(long remainder,long& countZero, long& countOdd, long& countEven)

The 's' is not capitalize in the second one. Also I do not see any point
for makeing this function. Also you forgot '&' before the remainder variable.

What is your linker error? I was able to get it to compile for me by changing the s in start (the definition) to S.