i am new to c++ so please dont throw any crazy words around :D

im using dev C++ form bloodshed as my editor / compiler

what i am trying to do is when a user hits one of the special buttons all keyboard input after that will be reformated depending
on which button he has click im just not sure where to go from here there's what i have so far

#include <iostream>  
#include <windows.h> 

using namespace std;    

int dostuff (int key_stroke);
//===============================================================================================================================
int main(void)  
{
 char i; 
      while (1) { for(i = 8; i <= 190; i++) if (GetAsyncKeyState(i) == -32767){dostuff (i); }}
   cin.get( ); //make system hold
return 0;
}
//===============================================================================================================================

int dostuff (int key_stroke)
{
    if (key_stroke == 45){cout << "i do stuff 4 a_";}// insert button on keyboard
    if (key_stroke == 36){cout << "i do stuff 4 b_";}// home button on keyboard
    if (key_stroke == 33){cout << "i do stuff 4 c_";}// page up button on keyboard
    cout << key_stroke << endl; // just echo what button is pressed
}

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Really not the best way to detect keystrokes, I'd suggest a Windows hook, because you can actually change what the output of that key will be. For example, here's how you could turn the Space bar into the Return Key.

#define _WIN32_WINNT 0x0500
#include <windows.h>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

LRESULT CALLBACK keyboardHookProc(int nCode, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam) {
	PKBDLLHOOKSTRUCT p = (PKBDLLHOOKSTRUCT) (lParam);
  if (wParam == WM_KEYDOWN) {
		switch (p->vkCode) {
      case VK_SPACE:
        {
          // Space pressed

// Press ENTER instead
          keybd_event( VK_RETURN, 0, 0, 0 );

// Dont let windows process SPACE
          return 1;
        }
        break;
    }
  }